Guild Wars Guru- archive down?

• They're aware of it, we haven't actually got any information that they're working on it :P

My thoughts are that they:
    * Got an error with the web server which went down, but this should be an easy fix and could be implemented automatically. Should also be resolved with a server restart.
    This makes this one unlikely.
    * They are performing server maintenance, but an unplanned and unnotified one. It's also taking very long.
    * Something crashed on their server.
    * The forum got hacked (not unlikely, since it's running on a very old version of vBulletin, and vBulletin isn't really a well-written forum: https://www.cvedetails.com/vulnerability-…/Vbulletin.html)
    * They shut down the servers on purpose.
    * Something else.

Not going to speculate any further on this, but that's why I think is likely (I'm a sysadmin specialized in Linux, so I have knowledge about these things).

Kev

• /sadpanda
    perhaps whomever was backing it up has done so and can get it up and running so we dont have to rely on curse.

If this is how they're going to do the archive, yeah, better get a backup up and running asap.

• We have some people who have backups. Any idea who?

Let's start getting ready to do it.
    [hr]
    1. Do we have enough bandwidth to host it here?
    2. Do we have any complete backups of the entire site?
    3. What are the legal implications?
    4. Can we make a completely searchable version?
    5. Do we need more personnel to make this happen?

Admins, let's take this discussion to the group chat we are using to make it all work. There is much to be done :D

• I'm going to answer these the best I can...